Writing Methods I Return to Without Fail (How I brainstorm new story ideas)

Recently I was having a conversation with a friend about outlining. We were discussing how jealous we are of the authors who have their tried and true, step by step plan for how they outline their novels. After trying out many different outlining styles, we still don’t have a “favorite style”.

But then something occurred to me. We’re trying to invent a step by step formula that can be used and reused on each novel. In theory, that sounds amazing! I mean, it would certainly cut back on all the painful amount of time it takes to figure out how this novel is going to be fleshed out.

But that’s exactly it. Every novel is different, and so is the process it takes to brainstorm new ideas.

When I got thinking on it, I couldn’t stop. Don’t get me wrong, there are still times I want a formula. A tried and true plan to cut back on a lot of time wasted.

But… wouldn’t that get boring?

That’s something I look forward to with brainstorming a new idea, figuring out how this one is going to be fleshed out. Almost all of my novels have been different. And, when I look at other authors, I think they can relate more than we realize.

However, I think it is true that every writer comes up with their own favorite methods that help them get in the world of this new story. I thought it would be fun to share a few of my own.

The Bulletin Board (visualizing my story ideas)

When I’m outlining a story idea I have a hard time keeping it all straight in my mind. It’s a lot of information and I have to get it out somehow. One of my favorite ways of doing this?

A bulletin board.

I have one over my desk for just such an occasion. I use sticky notes or pieces of papers to write down every scene idea. Then I stick the scenes to the board in the order that I want them to play out. This way I can visualize each act and each scene. I can see my story playing out at a glance.

Maybe you don’t have a bulletin board. Or maybe you don’t want it to be cluttered with sticky notes for months on end (I have to admit, I got a little tired of that myself). Well, another great way to do this is simply by pulling up a new Google doc document.

If I’m not in the mood to cover my bulletin board, then I create a new Google doc and do the same thing there. I’ve done it two different ways here.

One way is to do it in list view. That’s what I did for Project: Miss Marple. I made one giant bullet point list where I can see at a glance all the scenes I want to happen and in what order. Then I printed this out so I could always have it with me and see what I had planned for whatever place I am in the story.

If you still prefer the block view that you would use on a bulletin board, then you can also do this in Google docs. You can do more than you might imagine in Google docs and make it a visual feast! If you want to learn how to do some of that then check out Abbie Emmon’s video that I linked below where she dives into how to create an index card outline as well as character sheet profiles. (Trust me, it’s epic! You won’t want to miss this.)

Playlists! (but also character development)

I’ve said it before but I’ll say it again… playlists are the best for getting into a story idea! I create playlists for each main character that my story has as well as a playlist for the story as a whole.

I’m not extensive with these playlists. Again, it’s different for every story that I write. For most of my books I simply find a song that fits each character’s theme. For my novel Project: Miss Marple I have two main characters, Meg and Jack. Meg’s song is “Unbreakable Heart” by J.J. Heller and Jack’s is “I Believe in You” also by J.J. Heller.

I have another novel idea that I’ve outlined and one of my main characters for that story has an entire playlist… a rather lengthy playlist I might add. Because there is always that one character that makes you go the extra mile. XD

Past that, I love creating instrumental and lyrical playlists that fit my story’s vibe. This helps me later on so, so much. I listen to the instrumental playlist nonstop while I write, instantly jumping me into the story world, and I listen to the lyrical playlist later on while I edit the novel. Because, for some reason, that’s how my brain works.

Playlists actually help me develop my characters. Sometimes, by listening to their song that I’ve picked for them, it’ll give me new ideas for them as a character simply based off the song! Music transports me, and, when it’s music that reminds me of my character, it places me inside their head and helps me think like they do.

Seriously, if you haven’t tried playlists for your stories… what are you waiting for??

Tea (because it’s a brain sensor)

Okay, you saw this one coming, didn’t you? XD

Yes, I love tea. It’s not a secret. And I consume a lot of it… especially when I’m spending a solid hour or two a day writing. So what does that mean for each story idea?

I pick a different flavor for every story I write.

Stick with me here. It actually is one of my favorite ways of jumping into a story world.

Tell me, have you ever returned to a place where you’ve written a lot in the past and suddenly, just by being there, it makes you more productive than before? Maybe it’s your desk. Or a favorite room in the house. Wherever it is, this place triggers a happy memory in your brain and causes it to be more productive.

The same can be true with music. And the same can be true with tea.

They’re all brain sensors! Seriously, it works. When I was writing Project: Detective I drank a lot of London Fogs (and by the time I finished editing I was a little burnt out on the beverage XD). Whenever I touch on my heart story, Project: Ocean, let’s just say the words flow so much easier if I have a chai sitting next to me. For my current WIP, I’ve been enjoying anything spiced (definite fall vibes, am I right?).

Conclusion

Everyone is going to have different methods that work for them and that they return to. You’re going to have different ones. Maybe they’re similar to other authors or writers that you know, or maybe they’re not.

There’s nothing wrong with having your own unique methods. In fact, I think it’s cool when I find a writer that does something I’ve never heard of any writer doing previously!

Don’t be afraid to try new things. Not everything will work for you, but you won’t know until you try.

Your turn!

Do you have your own methods that you return to time and time again? What’s your favorite way to jump into a new story world? Have you tried any of these methods?

Blessings, Allyson

3 thoughts on “Writing Methods I Return to Without Fail (How I brainstorm new story ideas)

  1. YES! I’ve tried finding that One System to Rule Them All, but every time I start a new story, the process just turns out differently, no matter what. I often fall back on my favorite methods, but it never happens the same way twice 🤣 I love that you’ve found those methods that keep working for you, even as each novel comes to life differently. (Lol and I got a bulletin board recently, but it’s hung up in a weird place, so I haven’t really used it…I should move it. 😆 )

    Like

  2. Honestly, I can never outline a story until I’ve started it. XD I usually take a character, shove him into a situation, and go from there. THEN, when I’ve got several pages written (or maybe several hundred), I can plot the rest of the story.

    Music is an amazing gift from God! I like to pick a specific album for each book, and Michael W. Smith’s instrumental album Glory fit Judah’s Battle perfectly.

    I drink tea here and there. But iced coffee is my inspiration drink. XD

    Like

  3. Ack, I love these ideas!!! I did the tea thing for my novella, The Hunted. Chai will forever remind me of nordic snowfall now. 🥰

    Like

Leave a comment